Community Action Board of Director's Annual Meeting Depot Board Room, 175 Main Street, Battle Creek, MI January 25, 2016

Board members present: Steve Frisbie, Jim Dull, Lisa Walker, Jim Dyer, Lisa Purcell, Randall Hazelbaker **Board members absent**: Terry Langston, Sarah Jones, Val Whitney

Staff Present: Michelle Williamson, Mackenzie Scholte, Teri Maisner, Terris Todd, Courtney Iobe, Dan Hicks

Chairperson Shaffer called the Annual Board Meeting to order at 4:10 PM in the Depot Board Room. A quorum was present.

Purcell motioned to approve the annual meeting agenda, and Frisbie supported. The motion carried.

Hazelbaker motioned to approve Anne Flynn as a member of the board in the role of policy council representative as recommended by the membership committee. Motion was supported by Dyer. Motion carried.

Shaffer presented the slate of officers and allowed time for board members to make nominations outside of the slate presented. No new nominations were made. Dyer motioned to accept slate of officers as presented, and Dull supported. The motion carried.

Frisbie made a motion to approve the board committee assignments. Hazelbaker supported and the motion carried.

Hazelbaker motioned to accept the 2016 Board of Directors meeting dates. Dyer supported and the motion carried.

Williamson gave an explanation of the necessity of having the CEO authority recommendations. Shaffer read the recommendations aloud. The recommendations are as follows:

- The Board of Directors gives the authority to the CEO to hire staff with the exception of the DHHS requirement that the Board approve the hiring of the Head Start Director and Controller. The Board also gives the CEO authority to terminate agency staff.
- The CEO has the authority to enter into contracts on behalf of the agency, as written in the Financial Procedures Manual.

Frisbie motioned to approve the CEO authority recommendations as read by Shaffer. Hazelbaker supported. The motion carried.

Hazelbaker motioned to adjourn Annual Meeting, Dyer supported, and the motion carried.

The Annual Meeting adjourned at 4:22 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Mackenzie Scholte, Recording Secretary for Sarah Jones, Board Secretary